Search for the "Perfect" Multi-Time Zone Watch

Seiko, Orient, Citizen, Casio and other Japanese watch companies
seikocitizen

Post by seikocitizen » 12 Oct 2014 21:42

Dear Fellow Watch Masters,

If you have time, please bear with me while I explain my search. I love watches and think it cannot be totally substituted with a mobile phone. But while I have had some experiences and several watches I have not been able to find that "perfect" watch yet. I need some help and opinions. I have formed up some criteria which are still flexible and am searching for a watch that may fulfill most or even all of these requirements.

1. Multi-time zones: I travel to different cities with different time zones. Would be great to know at a glance the time for the origin and destination cities. Maybe a diver with a bezel may be a solution to this. Ability to read the watch in the dark by the table when jet-lagged beside the bed may be good.

2. Calendar: Date and day allows me to keep orientation of day and date as well as back home especially when I am overseas for days, changing time zones n days can be a bit confusing.

3. Maintenance free: I am a relatively simple and fuss-free person. I do not like to keep on changing the batteries for my quartz. I had Citizen Eco-Drive and Protrek Tough Solar and they worked great, the convenience of taking it and go is greatly appreciated. I enjoyed the compass and thermometer function of my Protrek but I guess it is not compulsory. I didn't service my Seiko and it works forever. I don't prefer spending time to keep on setting date and day when the watch is out, maybe decent reserve, if it's an automatic, is appreciated.